What do you mean June was 5 months ago?

I wrote this on June 8, 2015. At the time I didn’t realize it was June, I thought it was still the winter months. I kept waiting for the summer months to happen. It wasn’t until the end of September I realized the summer months had passed.

Mental illness is like glitter
It’s a collection of exclusiveness
You’ll do anything to be unchained.

Mental illness is like glitter
When giving it to others
You get more on yourself.

Mental illness is like glitter
It’s the gift that keeps giving
Even when you think you’re safe.

Mental illness is like glitter
It’s neither a want or a need
Few will help clean up the mess.

I’m not sure how I feel about this poem. Mainly because it seems like I wrote it yesterday and not 5 months ago. Emotion wise everything is still 100% accurate. Glitter is craft herpes, I’m qualified to say that I worked at a craft store for 3 years. When you work at a craft store during the holidays good luck trying to get the glitter and smell of cinnamon pinecones out of everything! Mental illness is like glitter, if you suffer from mental illness you know exactly what I mean.

~SirChangeling

One thought on “What do you mean June was 5 months ago?

Leave a Reply

